Cybersecurity Research Group

The Cybersecurity Research Group was established by Elisabeth Oswald upon her move to the University of Klagenfurt in 2019.

It is associated with the Department of Applied Informatics and forms a backbone of the Digital Age Research Centre.

The group’s main expertise is in the area of deployment aspects of cryptography. Such aspects are related to information leakage (via side channels), and the detection and prevention of such channels; practical cipher constructions for specific application areas; secure implementation techniques and tools; and the application of machine learning and deep learning in the context of cybersecurity.

Elisabeth Oswald

Elisabeth began her journey at the Technical University in Graz, where she initiated research into side channel attacks and countermeasures as part of her PhD research. Thereafter, she joined the University of Bristol as a lecturer in 2006. In Bristol she was part of one of the most prolific and vibrant crypto research groups in Europe. Over the years, she progressed through the ranks, helped by a number of highly cited research works and projects all facilitated by the fantastic crypto research group she was part of.

In 2010 she was awarded an EPSRC Leadership Fellowship; whilst just having progressed to senior lecturer, which enabled her to considerably expand her research lab in Bristol.

In 2016 she was awarded a highly sought after ERC Consolidator Grant. She also was promoted full professor in Applied Cryptography at Bristol; as first woman to be awarded a chair in the Computer Science department.

Since 2020 she has been a full professor in Cybersecurity at the University of Klagenfurt.

Elisabeth’s project portfolio in the UK can be best viewed via the UKRI website. Notice that Elisabeth switched to CI of LADA after her move to Klagenfurt.

Her scientific papers can be best viewed via Google Scholar.

She has been privileged to supervise a number of exceptional individuals to completion as PhD students:

Carolyn Whitnall PhD 2012 Scholar, Twitter
Luke Mather PhD 2015 Scholar, Twitter, LinkedIn
Valentina Banciu PhD 2016 DBLP Twitter, LinkedIn
Daniel Martin PhD 2016 Scholar
David McCann PhD 2017 DBLP
Yan Yan PhD 2019 LinkedIn
Joey Green PhD 2019 DBLP
Marco Martinoli PhD 2020 (pending final approval) DBLP